To The Top

Dissertation Year Fellowships

These fellowships are intended to help defray dissertation research expenses in the same academic year that a student will defend their dissertation.
More Information

Distinguished Dissertation Award

This rewards original scholarship and research at the doctoral level.
$1,000 Honorarium
More Information

Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award

This rewards distinguished scholarship and research at the master’s level.
$500 Honorarium
More Information

Student Teaching as Research (STAR) Mini-Grants


University of Missouri graduate students and postdoctoral scholars are eligible to apply for a small grant (up to $500) from the Graduate School to conduct a research project on undergraduate/graduate teaching and learning methods and outcomes. See the most recent call linked above for instructions on how to apply. The deadline for the 2019-2020 academic year is September 24, 2019. Awardees will develop full proposals during the fall semester and conduct the research during the spring semester.

Travel Scholarships

This scholarship supports graduate student travel for conference presentations and scholarly activities.
More Information

Donald K. Anderson Teaching Assistant Award

This rewards current students with a teaching assistantship who demonstrate excellence and lasting impact in the classroom, positive attitudes and personalities, enthusiasm and commitment, and mentorship to peers and/or undergraduates.
$500-$1,000 Prize
More Information

Donald K. Anderson Research Assistant Award

Rewards current students with a research assistantship who demonstrate excellence and lasting impact through contributions to scholarship, future promise as a scholar, originality, imagination, satisfactory progress toward a degree, and research mentoring to peers.
$500-$1,000 Prize
More Information

Mary Elizabeth Gutermuth Award for Community Engagement

The Mary Elizabeth Gutermuth Award is bestowed on a graduate student whose scholarly and/or creative activity demonstrates a commitment to community service through engaged scholarship.
More Information

Sandra K. Abell Science Education Award

The Sandra K. Abell Award was created to honor Sandi Abell’s memory and to recognize the outstanding achievements of a graduate student pursuing a PhD in the life or physical sciences who has demonstrated a passion for both teaching and research.
$1,500 Scholarship
More Information

Nancy and Bill Laurie Scholarship

No application is necessary; the recipient is notified by the Office of Financial Aid.


  • Graduated from a high school within the State of Missouri
  • Enrolled full-time as a graduate student
  • Demonstrates financial need

One or two students are selected for the award each year.

Previous Award Winners

Each award recipient is honored at the annual Graduate and Postdoctoral Awards Banquet.
More Information