To The Top
The Graduate School is responsible for campus administration of the Office of Postdoctoral Education at the University of Missouri.

What is a Postdoctoral Fellow?

The purpose of a postdoctoral appointment is to provide recent recipients (normally within the past eight years) of PhDs or equivalent doctorates with additional research and scholarly training for careers in research or higher education.

The role and status of a postdoctoral fellow should be clearly differentiated from those of a graduate student, full-time technical staff member or faculty employee. The title “postdoctoral fellow” generically refers to all doctoral-level scholars engaged in advanced education and training that is of limited duration (typically five years or fewer) and designed to prepare them for academic and/or research careers. For postdoctoral fellows whose responsibilities are primarily teaching (i.e., teaching 2 3-credit classes each semester), they will hold the title of “postdoctoral fellow – teaching.” These titles apply regardless of whether the postdoctoral trainee is a salaried employee of the university or a stipend-supported fellow receiving funding directly from a granting agency or through a Mizzou account.

Administrative Support

Administrative responsibilities of the Office of Postdoctoral Education include the establishment of policies, benefits and services available to postdoctoral scholars.

Office of Postdoctoral Education

Graduate School (housed in)
University of Missouri
210 Jesse Hall, Columbia, MO 65211

Local Calls: 573-882-6311
Toll-Free, Long-Distance: 800-877-6312
Fax number: 1-877-632-6316

Administrative Contact

Lissa Behm-Morawitz, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of the Graduate School


Postdoctoral Education Advisory Committee (PEAC)

The Postdoctoral Education Advisory Committee is comprised of MU faculty and leadership who work with postdoctoral fellows as well as the current Chair of the MU Postdoctoral Association. The committee convenes each semester to discuss and make recommendations regarding postdoctoral issues and opportunities, and to review applications for the MU Postdoctoral Research and Teaching Awards.

  • Lissa Behm-Morawitz (Associate Dean of the Graduate School)
  • Michael Garcia (Associate Professor, Division of Biological Sciences)
  • Sarah Jacquet (Postdoctoral Fellow, Chair of MU Postdoctoral Association)
  • David D. Kline (Professor, Biomedical Sciences)
  • Mannie Liscum (Professor, Division of Biological Sciences)
  • Kimberlyn McDonald (Senior Human Resources Specialist, College of Medicine)
  • David Mendoza (Associate Professor, Division of Plant Sciences)
  • Melissa G. Mitchum (MSMC Endowed Professor, Division of Plant Sciences)
  • Michelle Teti (Associate Professor, Department of Health Sciences)


PostDoc Spotlight

Dr. Kaleea Lewis

Dr. Kaleea Lewis
Read My Story

Dr. Rachel Bauer

Dr. Rachel Bauer
Read My Story

Dr. Georgios Makris

Dr. Georgios Makris
Read My Story