To The Top

The header image is the default header image for the site.

To foster a culture of well-being and resilience among graduate students at Mizzou, enabling them to thrive academically and personally.


The purpose of the Graduate Student Mental Health Task Force is to comprehensively assess the state of graduate student mental health at Mizzou, identify available resources and supports, recommend evidence-based actions for improvement, and establish feedback loops for ongoing assessment. Our mission is to create a supportive environment where well-being is recognized as the cornerstone of student success in graduate education, and where graduate students can thrive, not just survive. We acknowledge the diversity of challenges faced by graduate students, both within and between disciplines, and commit to providing faculty and staff working with graduate students the tools and knowledge to support their mental health and well-being. Additionally, our goal is to develop a sustainable model, framework, or plan based on existing data and best practices to promote the mental health and well-being of graduate students.

Task Force

  • Heather Hoffman (co-chair), Assistant Dean, Graduate School
  • Christine Even co-(chair), Director, Counseling Center (Co-Chair)
  • Enid Schatz, Associate Dean, Graduate School
  • Rachel Bailey, Assistant Clinical Professor, Social Work
  • Christy Hutton, Assistant Teaching Professor, Educational, School, & Counseling Psychology
  • Reginald Rogers, Associate Professor, Engineering 
  • Ashlie Lester, Associate Teaching Professor, Human Development & Family Sciences
  • Jenna Strawhun, Assistant Clinical Professor, Psychological Sciences/Psychological Services Clinic
  • Noel Elrod, Assistant Clinical Professor, Psychological Sciences/Psychological Services Clinic
  • Amy Adam, Student Services Coordinator, School of Information Science & Learning Technologies; Masters student, ELPA
  • Sabra Mitchell, Student Services Coordinator, Disability Center 
  • Beth Lauchstaedt, Care Coordinator, Student Affairs
  • Dana Schmidt, Assessment Coordinator, Graduate School
  • Joan Masters, Project Director, Missouri Partners in Prevention, MU Counseling Services
  • Elizabeth Taylor, PhD Student, Social Work
  • Ashwin Dhakal, PhD Student, Computer Science, Director of Programming, Graduate Professional Council
  • Maggie O’Brien, PhD Candidate, Educational, School & Counseling Psychology
  • Jamie Trenary, Masters Student, Education, School, and Counseling Psychology