To The Top

Forming a Doctoral or Thesis Program Committee

Every graduate student must form a faculty committee to oversee the process of thesis or dissertation completion.

A thesis committee is composed of three members of the MU faculty: a major advisor from the academic program (i.e., department, unless it is an interdisciplinary program not housed in a department), a second reader from the academic program, and an outside reader who is a member of the graduate faculty from a different MU graduate program.

The doctoral program committee is composed of a minimum of four members of MU Graduate Faculty.  The committee must include at least three members from the student’s home academic program and one outside member from a different academic program at MU.  At least two of the doctoral committee members, including the student’s advisor, must be MU Doctoral Faculty.

Committee formation